Book 2?!

So, for those of you who don’t know, I WAS reading The Gunslinger. Well, I finished it last night. Simply could not  put the thing down. Stayed up til about 3:00 a.m. finishing it up and was NOT disappointed!

So far book one was based around 3 main characters, and I’ve heard there are more characters to come into play once Roland gets his “ka-tet” together. I HIGHLY recommend getting your hands on this book and reading it, and I’m sure once you’ve read the first one, you’ll just HAVE to read them all, right?  I NEED to get my hands on the second book. Luckily I have an Amazon Kindle so that makes things pretty instant when you want to read a book you don’t actually own RIGHT NOW! LOL.

So, in book one we meet Roland, Jake, and this ominous figure known as The Man in Black (haa, like Men in Black?…. No… not like Men in Black). It’s a little unclear as to how Jake actually came to Mid-World… I mean it’s explained but I didn’t fully understand it so I may re-read that part, unless one of you out there wants to leave me a comment and help me out here?

Anyway, so Roland and Jake make their way through the Mohaine Desert on the not-so-elusive trail of The Man in Black and I feel like the whole first book was just setting up for something big to happen. There was a lot of backstory for Roland and Jake in this book and I feel like this brings us closer to the character. I like to get to know my characters on a personal level so I can feel a real connection with them. And then usually the author goes and does something really extreme and I’m left, heartbroken at the end of another book…. *sigh*

So, without further ado, please, go read The Gunslinger and I’ll be back later with how book 2 is going. 🙂

Sash

Leave a comment